Shadow of Night - Deborah Harkness

Shadow of Night

By Deborah Harkness

  • Release Date: 2012-07-10
  • Genre: Fantasy
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 301 Ratings

Description

Fall deeper under the spell of Diana and Matthew in the captivating second volume of the No.1 internationally bestselling ALL SOULS trilogy, following A DISCOVERY OF WITCHES. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Diana Gabaldon.

*A Discovery of Witches is soon to be a major TV series - immerse yourself in the ALL SOULS world*

'Deborah Harkness writes as if she's the hugely more talented love child of Diana Gabaldon and J. K. Rowling' thebookbag.co.uk on SHADOW OF NIGHT

In a world of witches, daemons and vampires the fragile balance of peace is unravelling. Diana and Matthew's forbidden love has broken the laws dividing creatures. To discover the manuscript which holds their hope for the future, they must now travel back to the past.

When Diana Bishop, descended from a line of powerful witches, discovered a significant alchemical manuscript in the Bodleian Library, she sparked a struggle in which she became bound to long-lived vampire Matthew Clairmont. Now the coexistence of witches, daemons, vampires and humans is dangerously threatened. Seeking safety, Diana and Matthew travel back in time to London, 1590. But they soon realise that the past may not provide a haven. Reclaiming his former identity as poet and spy for Queen Elizabeth, the vampire falls back in with a group of radicals known as the School of Night. Many are unruly daemons, the creative minds of the age, including playwright Christopher Marlowe and mathematician Thomas Harriot. Together Matthew and Diana scour Tudor London for the elusive manuscript Ashmole 782, and search for the witch who will teach Diana how to control her remarkable powers...

Reviews

  • P

    5
    By Ethandil
    Fabulous book. Couldn't put it down there's something for everyone, romance, murder, history, intrigue, witches, vampires!!! You name it and it's in there. The series also just keeps getting better and better.
  • Even better than the first!

    5
    By Crump1
    I've read A Discovery of Witches 23 times, I know the characters extremely well, more than others and every time I read it I learned something new. And it's the same with this book. Shadow of Night takes place in the late 16th Century during the plague. At this time historical figures such as Christopher Marlowe, Thomas Hardy and William Shakespeare are very much alive, in some ways it brings so much more depth to the story. Diana and Mathew are getting closer and closer to what Ashmole 782 has in store for them, with Diana being pregnant and all. The book deals with a lot of Mathews family conflict - the son he lost, killing his own father, even his and Diana's children. He seems to blame himself for everything, I guess living for a lifetime of guilt does that to you. However, this book takes off in so many new directions. We meet Diana's father, Mathews sister and sadly a character dies, but a new vampire/human relationship is formed! Just buy this book. Read it. Live it. Love it. Review it! Luckily for me I will be getting book 3 - The Book of Life 11 days early as I have been invited to the publication event in London.
  • Deborah Harkness's All souls trilogy.

    5
    By ally2302
    The Discovery of Witches & Shadow of Night in my opinion, are two of the best books I have read, since "Harry Potter". Deborah is a brilliant and captervating writer. As an author she is easy to read, creating superb imagery,with an intriguing and convoluted story, leaving you wanting more. A true mark of a good author. I can't wait for "The Book of Life" to find out what Mathew and Diana do next, but will sad their journey has come to an end. My search for another great read will begin...
  • Read it now!

    5
    By Lauren Enefer
    Let's jus say I'm itching to read the next one!
  • Shadow of night

    3
    By Ashwood11
    A wonderfully constructed story full of life,love and intrigue. Despite the impossibility of the characters the storyline is utterly believable. The factual elements woven Into the fantastic result in a historical, supernatural, love story with a twist in every chapter. The end however was disappointing and empty as if the author had used up all of her ideas and didn't know how to finish the story- a real shame.
  • Spellbinding

    5
    By Hypnohigh
    Love these books, charming, addictive and enthralling! Please write more than three!
  • Amazing

    5
    By Motownoel
    I have been waiting a long time for part 2, and I wasn't disappointed. Brilliant!
  • Fantastic

    5
    By Taryn.t
    Such a rich story. I can't wait until everything fits together in the last book.
  • Shadow of night

    5
    By Geraldine Altoft
    I can't wait for the third. A heroine that we can all identify with on some level.
  • So disappointed

    2
    By Snuffy31
    Having eagerly waited in anticipation of this second instalment to what was a fabulous beginning (Discovery of Witches), I found this book lacked so much! And by that i mean the author got lost in the excitement of being a historian and therefore exploring all the new characters that she lost the original plot! there was no chemistry between the 2 main characters, for most parts the story forgot about the Ashmole book they were out there looking for, not much attention on the 'present' where you realise at the end there seems to have been a lot more going on. Frankly it's not left me with wanting more and reaching out for the third instalment.